Spike in entries for precast concrete awards

by Tania Wannenburg

Entries for the 2016 Concrete Manufacturers Association NPC (CMA) Awards for Excellence competition have almost doubled.

With 123 entries, the 2016 Concrete Manufacturers Association NPC (CMA) Awards for Excellence competition has drawn almost double the 77 submissions entered during the last competition.

“It is quite clear from this year’s entry submissions that the use of precast concrete is growing rapidly across diverse applications, offering ease of installation, as well as high standards of finish and durability,” comments Monique Eggebeen, chairperson of the awards committee.

The Aesthetics Commercial category attracted by far the most entries, reeling in an impressive 50 projects. Some entries were entered for two or more categories, which means that one project could win more than one award.

Separating the cream from the crop
The entries were scrutinised on 23 November by leading professionals in the field of construction. The five judges were landscape architect, Antoinette de Beer; architect, Hugh Fraser; civil engineer, Malcolm Pautz; civil engineer, Abe Thela; and quantity surveyor, Bert van der Heever.

A possible six trophies, one for each category, and up to three commendation awards can be granted in each category, providing the judges consider the entries to be worthy of an award.

The results of the competition will be announced at a gala dinner ceremony at Summer Place in Johannesburg on 23 April 2016.

Celebrating excellence
“First staged in 1985, the awards have since become the undoubted highlight of the precast concrete industry’s calendar,” says Eggebeen. “They provide an excellent vehicle for Southern African designers and project developers to establish themselves as trendsetters across several disciplines, and in doing so, to gain national recognition.

“The CMA is justifiably proud of the superior attributes of precast concrete which, once again, are evident in this year’s competition – attributes which are certainly on par with those of our global compatriots.”

Eggebeen adds that the CMA is extremely grateful to this year’s sponsors, namely PPC (main sponsor), Afrisam, BASF, Chryso and Lafarge.

Award entry book
Images and entry details can be found in the awards entry book, which has been published electronically on the CMA’s website. The book provides a valuable reference document on some of the country’s most prestigious construction projects using precast concrete.

Concrete Manufacturer’s Association
Tel: 011 431 0727
Website: www.cma.org.za

Entries per category:
•    Aesthetics Commercial – 50.
•    Aesthetics Residential – 12.
•    Community Upliftment – 9.
•    Technical Excellence – 26.
•    Innovation – 15.
•    Precast for Life (for projects older than ten years) – 10.

You may also like