Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta, three architects from Spain who have worked together since founding their firm, RCR Arquitectes, in 1988, were together named the 2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize laureates.

This is the first time ever that three architects together are honoured in this way, but it is also fitting since their intensely collaborative way of working together, sharing equally the creative process, commitment to vision and all responsibilities, led to the selection for this year’s award.

Photo credit: Hisao Suzuki, courtesy of the Pritzker Architecture Prize